The Ranger

When the Revolutionary War commenced, the Continental Congress authorized the building of the Ranger.

pixThe sloop-of-war Ranger became famous primarily because of its Captain, John Paul Jones, and his achievement in obtaining a salute from an Admiral of the French Fleet at Quiberon Bay. Captain Jones wrote a letter to the Naval Committee of the Continental Congress saying, "I am happy to have it in my power to congratulate you on my having seen the American Flag, for the first time, recognized in the fullest and completest manner by the flag of France."

The Ranger was built on Langdon's Island in 114 days. It was a 308-ton ship and was launched in May 1777. On a fair day with a good wind, she was about the fastest sailing ship for that period. On November 1, 1777, with a Piscataqua crew of 145 men, Captain Jones took the Ranger to sea, carrying news of the recent surrender of General Burgoyne to France.

A Colonial Tale of the Ranger

ALL Daughters interested in the True HISTORY of the Gallant RANGER may herein Read of Her. Our Glorious CONGRESS on June 14, 1777, "Resolved that Captain JOHN PAUL JONES be appointed to command said ship Ranger. . ." Now, you must know COLONEL JOHN LANGDON, merchant of Portsmouth, in the STATE of New Hampshire was underwriter of this Sloop of War. The RANGER and her Sister Ship, the Frigate RALEIGH, are built at COLONEL'S Boatyard on Rising Castle in Kittery, in the District of Maine.

pix Our Noble Captain JOHN PAUL JONES, having come amongst us, here in Portsmouth, in July, remained whilst he Saw his Ship fitted out as necessary for a Fighting SHIP. Know Ye, until Her Christening, the RANGER was called HAMPSHIRE for the Great State in which we Dwell, and that She is called in memory of a band of FIGHTING MEN mostly from this town, who in the Late Wars with the French and the Indians were called ROGER'S RANGERS.

For those who Question, Our Captain flew the new Flag on RANGER. Did not, on the Same Day as his Appointment, the Congress also Say the Flag for Our United STATES was Thirteen Stripes and Thirteen Stars on a blue Field for a "new constellation?" Did not Our Honorable Ambassadors to France in 1778 write, "that the flag of the United States of America consists of thirteen stripes, alternating red, white and blue . . .?" DAUGHTERS, there are Fair Drawings shown of the ""Noord Americaansche Flag," with its Thirteen Stars, eight pointed and its Thirteen Stripes, red, white and blue that were made from Life at Texel in the DUTCH Republic.

This Flag belonged on the RANGER, IT WAS MADE FOR Her by the Fair Ladies of Our Town. Whilst Strange Rumors may say these Ladies did cut apart Their Own Silken Gowns for the Making of the Flag, 'tis Certain how They have Sewn. Our Fighting RANGER, racing through the Seas, with Sails Fair Set and the Winds Blowing, needs have a Sturdy Flag. The Stars were Quilted to the Blue Union and the Stripes, Red, White and blue FELTED together.

Now, DAUGHTERS, RANGER CHAPTER proudly Shares the Colors of Our Flag with you.

Written by Ranger Chapter Daughter, Judith Kimball

Our Charter Members

Edith Whidden Badger Shattuck
Frances Shillber Badger
Alberta Boger
Dr. Martha I. Boger-Shattuck
Ancy D. Brownell
Susie L. Randall Cornish
Alice Reinewald Craig
Alva M. Durgin
Ethel L. Foss
Helen C. Green
Maud A. Greenough
Irma Wells Harding
Margaret Beane Harrison
Marcia Ellen Tartford
Florence Sise Jewett
Florence Jewett Knox
Marcia Bennett Lance
Bessie A. Legro
Marguerite Hovey Locklin
Nellie R. Locklin
Kathryn Hildebrant Marden
Abbie Margeson
Flora S. Marvin
Inez L. McIntyre
Carrie A. Randall Muchmore
Ethel Jewett Newick
Louise S. Norton
Katherine W. Peyser
May Shillaber Peyser
Evelyn Semple Philbrook
Mary Currier Pike
Martha Greenough Randall
Frances Raynes
Augusta L. Sheppard
Edith Dager Torrey
Ruth Varrell
Dorothy Vaughan

Our Past Regents

Dr. Martha I. Boger-Shattuck 1929 - 1931
Helen Green 1931 - 1933
Phyllis Hodgdon 1933 - 1935
Marcia B. Lane 1935 - 1937
Sally Crockett 1937 - 1939
Edith Fagan 1939 - 1941
Maude E. Dismukes 1941 - 1941
Marguerite Locklin 1941 - 1943
Ancy D. Brownell 1943 - 1945
Sarah D. Simpson 1945 - 1946
Edna White 1946 - 1947
Jessie Crockett 1947 - 1949
Elizabeth Brown 1949 - 1951
Eileen Rogers 1951 - 1953
Marjorie Pray (Miss) 1953 - 1955
Esther Lange 1955 - 1956
Sue Wilson 1956 - 1957
Elizabeth McDermott 1957 - 1959
Edith Proctor 1959 - 1961
Charlotte Williams 1961 - 1963
Mabel Frost 1963 - 1965
Ednapearl Parr 1965 - 1967
Eleanor Cromwell 1967 - 1969
Marjorie Pray 1969 - 1971
Shirley Hodgdon 1971 - 1973
Orintha M. Chick 1973 - 1975
Rowena Plourde 1975 - 1977
Ednapearl Parr 1977 - 1979
Eileen Rogers 1979 - 1981
Ruth Sweet 1981 - 1983
Roberta Pevear 1983 - 1985
Ellen Farley 1985 - 1987
Loyce Vickery 1987 - 1989
Ruth Griffin 1989 - 1991
Judith Beaudoin 1991 - 1993
Nellie McKay 1993 - 1995
Nancy Young 1995 - 1998
Mildred J. Grady 1998 - 2000
Cynthia W. Oliver 2000 - 2001
Tylene Jousse 2001 - 2006
Shealagh E. Gray 2006 - 2010
Ronda J. Baker Hill 2010 - 2012
Wendy Passero 2012 - 2014
Andrea Abbott 2014 - 2016
Tricia Jones 2016 - 2018
Judith Hiller 2018 - 2019
Tylene Jousse 2019 - 2020
Barbara Pamboukes 2020 - 2022
Lynette Winegarner 2022 - 2023